Hambleton’s sporting heroes were rewarded last week for their commitment to sport.

Compere for the night Paul Addison from BBC Tees started the proceedings by interviewing special guest Paul Grayson a cricketer from Bedale who made his debut in 1990 at Scarborough.

After six seasons at Yorkshire he left to join Essex reaching four Lords finals winning two and losing two. He also achieved two caps for England. After retiring in 2005 he became assistant coach to Graeme Gooch at Essex taking over as Head Coach in 2008. Last year he started his current role at Durham University as Head of Cricket.

“The quality and volume of the nominations was overwhelming this year and even harder to pick out the winners,” said Council Mrs Bridget Fortune, Portfolio Holder for Leisure Services, who hosted the event and is pictured with some of the winners.

“The annual awards ceremony gets better and better every year and it was great to see a real mix of those attending from young school children right though to ex players, coaches and even an Paralympian gold medallist! It was also fantastic to have Paul Grayson – a‘local lad done good’ whom I am sure has inspired so many of the young children to take up sport and want to follow in his footsteps.

“We have a lot to be thankful for in Hambleton that we have so many gifted sports stars and talented coaches and volunteers who give up their time to help them and their clubs. Well done Hambleton.”

Organised by Hambleton District Council with support from North Yorkshire Sport, awards went to:

 Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Emma Brown – who excels at both football and cricket

 Sportsperson of the Year: two winners this year – Scott Lincoln (shot putt) and Adam Radwan (rugby)

 Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Laurence Whitley, Paralympian gold medallist for rowing

 Team of the Year: Easingwold Cricket Cub U13’s

 Coach of the Year: Ian Cross (footbal)

 Community Sports Project of the Year: Northallerton Parkrun

 School Sporting Achievement: again two winners – Hutton Rudby Primary School and Thirsk School U16 boys Hockey Team

 Exceptional Sporting Achievement: Sessay Cricket Club

 Outstanding Voluntary Contribution Award: went to Paul Kendrick from Huby Bowls Club who was the driving force behind the successful project to re build the club house

 Lifetime Achievement Awards: Keith Caygill for his 44 years involvement with local clubs and Andrew Gilleard who is a long and valued member and player of Crayke and District Sports Club

 Commitment to Sport Award: Dave Goodwin who has recently retired from Hambleton District Council after 29 years supporting, guiding and directing clubs and sport associations across the district