North East Connected

Lifelong friends collect top college award

John DennisLIFELONG friends have been honoured with their school’s highest accolade at an end of year celebratory assembly.

Year 11 students Thea Crocker and Thomas Woods, who grew up together in the same street in Romanby, were each presented with the coveted John Dennis Award at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College’s final Year 11 prize-giving ceremony.

Named after former chair of governors John Dennis MBE, the award is presented to the Year 11 boy and girl, who by their attitude, commitment and honourable conduct have contributed most to the character and reputation of the school.

“I can’t believe that both Thomas and I were chosen to receive these awards,” said Thea, 16, who will continue her A level studies at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College.

“We have known each other since we were babies. We went to the same pre-school and primary school, we played together as children and now we are both receiving one of the highest awards that the school can bestow – it is such a privilege.”

Thomas, 16, who received a loud cheer from fellow students on collecting his award, said: “I feel very proud to have been given this award and I will cherish it always.”

For the first time the John Dennis trophies were presented by Mary Dennis after Mr Dennis, a former Northallerton councillor and passionate advocate for education, passed away in October 2015.

“I know that John would have been very proud of these two young people today,” said Mrs Dennis.

“Presenting anything to students gave him such pleasure and it is a wonderful legacy that these awards will continue in his name.”

Assistant principal and head of key stage 4 Ben Jones said: “Both Thomas and Thea represent what we hope all students at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College aspire to be.

“Thea is a young woman of the highest integrity, she is compassionate and empathetic, honest and determined and Thomas, who some teachers have described as a model student, is unfailingly polite, hardworking and determined to succeed in all aspects of school life.”

Thea and Thomas were among hundreds of Year 11 students who were recognised for their academic achievements, consistent effort and contribution to school life.

Certificates were handed out to students, nominated by their tutors for academic excellence and effort in 24 individual subjects, ranging from maths and media to RE and resistant materials.

The awards were hosted by assistant principal Ben Jones, who also welcomed special guests Rob Barker, chair of governors, Chris Scard, of Thirsk Clock, an independent charitable organisation that delivers services to young people and adults across North Yorkshire, PCSO Shane Hardy and head of sixth form Bronia Harris.

Good behaviour certificates, effort awards, attendance certificates, house awards and tutor group awards were presented by Mr Barker, with special awards, given to pupils who were nominated by their tutors in at least three different subjects for their effort and achievement, handed out by Mrs Harris.

Summing up the presentation Mr Barker added: “I’d like to congratulate all of our students who are not only a credit to the school but also to themselves and their families.”

Award winners:

Subject awards:

Art: Thomas Holding, Heavenly Rose

Business studies: Sam Kirtley, Eleanor Foster

Drama: Connor Miles, Matthew Petty

Engineering: Charlie Stace, Ryan Lishman

English: Thea Crocker, Chelsea Trousdale

English Literature: Elizabeth Dean, Adam Donald

French: Emma Bailey, Luke Breckon

Geography: Elliott Harker, Imogen Hill

German: Amy Gouldthorpe, Luke Briggs

Graphics: Lauren Hill, Robert Hore

Health & Social Care: Zoe Lappin, Kelly Bosomworth

History: Daisy Whitehead, Joseph Barron

Hospitality and Catering: Melissa Green, Donovan Falvey

ICT: Abigail Grayson, Chloe Smith

Maths: Stephen Banks, Thomas Wood

Media: Meghan Browne, Jake Soulsby

Music: Nathan Wright, Bethany Horner

PE (Commitment to Sport): Jack Hudson, Annie Henry

PE (GCSE): Joel Everett, Chloe Hunt

RE: Seth Dawson, Bradley Metcalf

Resistant Materials: Stephen Chapman, Benjamin Sharrocks

Science: Emma Strickland, Jamie Woodburn

Spanish: Liam Wharton, Dannielle White

Textiles: Abbie Mackintosh, Poppy Shepherd

Attendance Certificates (100 per cent attendance during Years 10 & 11)

Jake Bennington, Ryan Milner, Ryan Monaghan-White, Andrew Sykes

Commendation Certificate (excellent attendance during Years 10 & 11)

Stephen Banks, Luke Breckon, Aldrey Cervantes, Amy Chilton, Caitlin Crossley, Isaac Finn, Emily Goodyear, Abigail Grayson, Jason Greaves, Scott Holmes, Adam McLean, Matthew Siddall, Amelia Waton, Ryan Wilson

House Awards

Alfie Corr, Donavan Falvey, Bradley Metcalfe, Jake Soulsby

Tutor Group Awards:

Sophie McGlynn, James Briggs, Amy Gouldthorpe, Abbie Mackintosh, Stephen Chapman, Joel Everett, Stephen Banks, Ross Easdon, Chloe Hunt, Andrew Sykes

Special Awards:

Emma Bailey, Thomas Barley Jake Bennington, Andrew Campbell, Holly Chandler, Amy Chilton, Emily Crisp, Thea Crocker, Caitlin Crossley, Isaac Finn, Emily Goodyear, Scott Holmes, Elizabeth Huckle, Luke Johnston, Sophie McGlynn, Samantha Parker, Samuel Pratt, Matthew Siddall, Jake Soulsby, Rebecca Tyrer, Alex Vayro, Amelia Waton, Elizabeth Wright

Exit mobile version