North East Connected

Middlesbrough Bus Station receives national recognition for safety

Middlesbrough Bus Station receives national recognition for safety

Middlesbrough Bus Station, which welcomes up to 30,000 visitors every day, has retained the national Safer Bus Station Award for keeping passengers safer for the fourth consecutive year.

The Safer Bus Station award highlights standards of good practice in security and reassurance for passengers and staff, and also recognises operators’ efforts to reduce crime and disorder, as well as the fear of crime.

Ryan Davey, Area Manager of North East British Parking Association, said: “The Safer Bus Station Award scheme establishes standards of good practice and accredits individual bus and coach stations whose operators have demonstrated a commitment to working with the local police force and other partners to reduce crime and create a safe and non-threatening environment.

“The bus station is regularly patrolled by staff in addition to the extensive CCTV in and around the station. There are also regular patrols conducted by Cleveland Police officers and crime prevention events held by the Cleveland Police Crime Prevention team. This partnership working is vital in order to keep the bus station a safe place.

“Middlesbrough Bus Station is clean, tidy and has a very welcoming feel to it which is credit to all of the staff working there. The staff are always on hand and are more than happy to help anyone.”

Cllr Dennis McCabe, Middlesbrough Council’s Executive Member for Environment, said: “This award is testament to the hard work and commitment of the staff and what Middlesbrough Council are putting into the well-established and great quality facility that is the Bus Station.”


Photo: (left to right) Martin Shepherd, Head of Property and Commercial Services; Ged McGreevy, Building Services Manager; Paul Payne, Crime Prevention Officer, Cleveland Police; Angela Jacques, Bus Station Supervisor; Steve Westwood Enforcement and Surveillance Manager; Ryan Davey, British Parking Association Area Manager; Cllr Dennis McCabe, Executive Member for the Environment.

Further information:

Visit the BPA Media Hub or contact the Policy and Public Affairs Team direct:

Email: Tel: 01444 447 316

Exit mobile version