The Institute of Directors (IoD) has named the business experts who will pick the winners of this year’s Director of the Year awards.

There is just a few days left to enter the prestigious awards, which recognise the top directors in Yorkshire and the North East across eight categories. The final deadline is 17 April.

The judging panel will be chaired by Richard Tuplin, regional director (north) of Jelf Insurance Brokers. He will be joined by Simon Walton, partner at Berwick Partners and Andy Wood, managing partner of the Leeds and Newcastle offices of Grant Thornton UK.

The panel is completed by Rachel Hannan, director, The Hannan Partnership, Jude Browne, managing director of Headmint and Karl Pemberton, managing director of Active Chartered Financial Planners.

The winners will be revealed at a gala dinner at the Principal York hotel on 5 July. They will go forward to the national IoD Director of the Year finals.

Stephen Martin, director general of the IoD, “I was honoured to win a Director of the Year award when I was chief executive at Clugston Group. It felt like a terrific personal achievement, but more importantly it recognised the hard work and effort that had been put in by the entire team around me.


“I’d urge directors from all industries to put themselves forward for an award and join us on 5 July as we come together in York to celebrate successful leadership.”

Richard Tuplin said: “The Director of the Year awards raise awareness among IoD members, the wider business community and public of the significant contribution business leaders can make to society and to economic prosperity in our region. They are recognised as one of the most prestigious accolades for business leaders in Yorkshire and the North East.”

This year’s award categories are:

  • Director of the Year Award (SME company)
  • Director of the Year Award (Mid-Market company)
  • Director of the Year Award (Large company)
  • Young Director of the Year Award
  • International Director of the Year Award
  • Public & Third Sector Director of the Year Award
  • Family Business Director of the Year
  • Non-Executive Director of the Year

Partners for this year’s awards event are Fentimans, Leeds Beckett University, Microsoft, Principal York and Vista.

To make a nomination or to request further information please contact