North East Connected

Yorkshire and North East’s top directors revealed

Richard TuplinThe Institute of Directors (IoD) has unveiled the shortlist of business leaders who will compete for its prestigious Director of the Year awards.

The winners will be revealed at a gala dinner at Leeds Civic Hall on 30 June 2016, hosted by broadcaster Danni Hewson. They will go forward to the national IoD Director of the Year finals.

The judging panel was chaired by Richard Tuplin, managing director of Jelf Insurance Partnership. He said: “These awards were devised to recognise the very best of the best and, once again, our shortlist is of the highest calibre. We’re looking forward to an excellent awards evening, where the region’s top businesses will gather to celebrate and recognise outstanding leadership in the boardroom.”

Entertainment at the awards will be provided by talented vocalist Beverley Savarin.

To book your place at the awards ceremony, please call 0113 243 0152 or email Prices are £79 for members, £89 for non-members. A table of ten is £750 (members) or £850 (non-members).

Awards sponsors are: GE Capital, Leeds Beckett University, Leeds City Council, Topic UK, UKTI and Vista.

The shortlist is:

Yorkshire and the North East

Large Company

Herwig Vennekens, Dunhills (Pontefract) plc

Ibrahim Najafi, R&R Ice Cream



Gillian Southern MBE, Wessington Cryogenics Limited

Joanna Robinson, Mansfield Pollard & Co

Mohamed Aslam MBE, Aagrah Restaurant Group

Paul Teasdale, Premier Technical Services Group PLC



Ibrahim Najafi, R&R Ice Cream

Jon Geldart, Grant Thornton International


Public & Third Sector                                  

Ammar Mirza CBE, Asian Business Connexions CIC Limited

Helen Ball, Barnsley Civic Enterprise Ltd

Joanne Roney OBE, Wakefield Council

Tom Riordan, Leeds City Council


Yorkshire Small Company                                    

Keith Jackson, JRI Orthopaedics

Peter Brook, Oracle Asset Finance Limited

William Bottomley, Lifetime FM

William Sutton, Vista


North East Small Company                                   

Adrian Holland, Choice Future Planning Ltd

Daniel Robson, Green Digit Limited

Dean Benson, Visualsoft

Joanne Thompson, Penrillian


Yorkshire Young Director                                      

Adam Walsh, The Right Fuelcard Company

Craig Benton, The London Deli Co

Euan Craig, Exemplar Healthcare

Sinéad Sopala, Ramsdens Solicitors LLP


North East Young Director                                           

Dean Benson, Visualsoft

John Savage, Flame Heating Spares

Daniel Robson, Green Digit Limited


Non-Executive Director

Peter Wilkinson, Unison Ltd

Qari Asim MBE, Makkah Mosque and DLA Piper UK LLP

Terry Hodgkinson CBE DL, NCFE

Exit mobile version