North East Connected

Youth elections results announced as thousands cast their vote

Over 6,000 young people in schools across the county voted this week to elect Youth Parliament representatives and new members of the Northumberland Youth Cabinet.
Tara Blyth and John Strasenburgh were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Parliament.
Tara Blyth, Laura Brown, Abbie Emery, Cassey Kinghorn, and Luke Shears were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Cabinet.
This year’s ballot saw the highest ever turnout of young people voting.
Polling took place at participating schools on Wednesday 7  December and the results were announced at County Hall on Thursday 8 December.
Leader of Northumberland County Council, Grant Davey, Councillor Robert Arckless, cabinet member for children’s services, Civic Head Alan Sambrook and Councillor Anthony Murray were  present to hand out the awards.
Councillor Robert Arckless said: “We are proud to have so many young people that care deeply about the future of the county.  I’d like to congratulate all the successful candidates and wish them every success as they take on important roles representing the county’s young people.
“There was a really high turn-out at the polls which  just goes to show how tuned in young people in Northumberland  are and how much they care about where they live.
“The new members of the Cabinet and Parliament  have got some great ideas and are all really passionate. I’m looking forward to working with them and I’m sure they’ll achieve a great deal for young people in the county.”
The new members will take up post of their two year term on Monday January 30, 2017 following detailed planning of their projects for the forthcoming year when they will be joined by the existing Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament members.
Elections take place annually and any young person who is interested in standing in the future can email for more information.
Exit mobile version