• Tue. May 28th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

BBL – Results: Sunday 08 May – Molten BBL Play-Off Final

The 2015-16 season concluded in style at The O2 Arena as Sheffield Sharks claimed the final piece of silverware with an 84-77 triumph over Leicester Riders in the Molten BBL Play-Off Final.
Molten BBL Play-Off Final
Leicester Riders 77 (22,43,66) (Watson 17, Washington 15, Wright 13)
Sheffield Sharks 84 (18,44,59) (Tuck 20, Brooks 18, Odister 16)

Sheffield Sharks produced a strong final quarter effort as they came from behind to win the 2016 Molten BBL Play-Off Final with an 84-77 victory, at The O2 Arena.

Mike Tuck picked up the Finals MVP award after a hugely influential display with 20 points, 13 rebounds and four assists, while Jerrold Brooks scored eight of his 18 points in a pivotal 14-0 spell down the stretch.

The Riders led by as many as seven points at the end of the third period, but saw their bid for a historic treble fall short in front of over 12,000 fans despite a combined 32 points from Neil Watson and Conner Washington.

The enthralling season finale began with a TrayVonn Wright dunk on the opening possession, but the Sharks settled with Tuck asserting himself early with six points to help his side into a six-point advantage at 13-7.

Wright picked up his second foul and would sit the rest of the half, but the Riders bench made an immediate impact before 3-pointers from Watson bookended a 12-2 close to the quarter to put the Riders up by four.

The barrage from downtown continued at the start of the second as Tyler Bernardini got in on the act to extend the lead to seven. Sheffield tied the game at 30-30 with a 10-3 burst before a 3-point frenzy ensued with Washington making three consecutive triples as he raced to 15 points.

Sheffield held their own from downtown and Brandon Hogg’s late triple – their eighth of the half – gave his side a slender advantage to take into the half-time interval at 44-43.

Both teams traded baskets early in the third as a tightly-contested Final continued with Sheffield edging ahead at 59-56 before Leicester put together a 10-0 run to close the period with their largest lead of the game.

Tuck ended a six-minute drought for his side, but the Riders were still in control with a 71-66 advantage with 6:14 remaining following another Bernardini three.

The Sharks then went on a remarkable 14-0 run as they kept their opponents scoreless for over five minutes with Brooks netting eight points including a go-ahead 3-pointer in a decisive spell that made it 80-71.

Drew Sullivan managed to cut the gap with a late three, but the damage had been done and the Sharks wrapped up the victory to seal the title.

  PL W L Pts
1 Leicester Riders 33 29 4 58
2 Esh Group Eagles Newcastle 33 28 5 56
3 Sheffield Sharks 33 20 13 40
4 Worcester Wolves 33 19 14 38
5 Glasgow Rocks 33 19 14 38
6 London Lions 33 16 17 32
7 Cheshire Phoenix 33 16 17 32
8 Leeds Force 33 14 19 28
9 Plymouth University Raiders 33 13 20 26
10 Bristol Flyers 33 9 24 18
11 Manchester Giants 33 8 25 16
12 Surrey Scorchers 33 7 26 14

By admin