In-form openers Dom Sibley and Zak Crawley are among four players in line to make their England Lions debuts against Australia A in the four-day match starting on Sunday 14 July.

The pair have enjoyed batting at the host venue, Canterbury, in recent weeks – Sibley struck a superb double century for Warwickshire last week, while Crawley averages 49 in his last six innings at his home ground.

Gloucestershire batsman James Bracey and Sussex seamer Ollie Robinson are the other two uncapped Lions in the squad, which also contains three players with Test match experience – Ben Foakes, Ben Duckett and Jack Leach.

Robinson is joined by the only seamer with more Specsavers County Championship wickets than him in Lewis Gregory. The Somerset all-rounder has been in fine form all season, with his 44 first-class wickets costing just 12 runs apiece, and a batting average of 34 for the Championship leaders.

Lions Head Coach Andy Flower said: “We’re really looking forward to a great challenge against a very experienced Australia A side, some of whom will be looking to stake a claim for Ashes selection.

“We’ve got a very good squad of players travelling with us to Canterbury; one that’s more than capable of delivering a positive result.

“Lions selection is always tricky. We’ve got an eye on the England team’s short-term needs ahead of a busy winter schedule, but we’re looking at some medium- and long-term prospects as well. We also need to respect the counties’ needs during this busy time in the domestic season.

“While some players will be playing at this level for the first time, there is plenty of experience in our squad too. This will be a great learning opportunity for all these players and a chance to test themselves against a strong opposition.”

The captain for this match will be announced in due course.

England Lions squad

James Bracey (Gloucestershire)

Zak Crawley (Kent)

Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire)

Ben Foakes (Surrey)

Lewis Gregory (Somerset)

Jack Leach (Somerset)

Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire)

Sam Northeast (Hampshire)

Jamie Porter (Essex)

Ollie Robinson (Sussex)

Dom Sibley (Warwickshire)