The biggest audience yet attended the Forum, this week to celebrate Hambleton’s annual ‘Community Awards’.

Now in their fifth year the awards pick out exceptional contributions to the district by residents young and old.

“All of the entries were excellent this year,” said Council Mrs Bridget Fortune, Portfolio Holder for Leisure Services, who hosted the event.

“We really do have a wealth of community-minded groups and individuals in our district, who consistently go the extra mile to make life better for other people, very frequently with no thought for themselves, only how they can help others.

“It is great that the district council has these awards which recognises these hard working volunteers in our communities, making life better for everyone. They are all winners in my book!”

The awards went to:

Service to Young People Award:   Linda Gibbon from Thirsk Clock for the work she has done in helping young people for the last 15 years

Service to Older People Award:   Bedale Community Meals on Wheels for providing hot meals for older residents of Bedale three times per week

Service to Disability:  Bedale Community Minibus for providing transport links, particularly to attend doctors appointments and local markets

Community Group of the Year: Huby & Sutton Community Shop (Barkers of Huby) for providing post office, banking and shop facilities.

Community Event of the Year: Romanby WI Scarecrow Festival, for creating an inclusive community event that all residents could enjoy

Community Hall of the Year:  East Harlsey Village Hall for providing a superb community space in the village

Peter Davison Community Champion of the Year: Elain Corden for her outstanding work serving the parish of Huby

Volunteer of the Year: Wendi May New for her work with Scribble Zone, providing art opportunities for young people

Parish Council of the Year: Easingwold for all the projects they have carried out including the Friendliness Initiative, improving Millfields, improving the green spaces, cleaning up various areas, developing a youth council and management of the skate park.

Young Volunteer of the Year: Naomi Savage for her ongoing work raising awareness of brain tumours and fundraising for the Brain Tumour Research Charity.

The event was hosted by Scott Making from BBC Tees.