• Sun. Jul 21st, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 16.23.46Nine Hambleton councillors have been honoured for their combined 201 years to the District Council.

Three have been made honorary aldermen of the authority – former Councillors Arthur Barker and John Prest each served 32 years and John Smith 17 years before retiring at the elections earlier this year.   Mr Barker is a past Leader of the Council and Mr Prest and Mr Smith have both served as Council Chairman.

Three serving councillors – Stephen Dickins, Carl Les and David Webster – and three former councillors – Andrew Robinson, Margaret Skilbeck and Peter Sowray – were awarded long service awards for 20 years service.

The awards were made at a meeting of the Full Council on Tuesday September 15.

By admin