• Tue. Jul 16th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

Prestigious engineering awards open in the North East

ByBusiness Admin

Oct 24, 2018

Prestigious engineering awards open in the North East

The Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) is inviting engineering firms and organisations from across the North to showcase their work as it gears up for its annual awards.

The Robert Stephenson Awards, sponsored by CDM Recruitment, will recognise achievement, excellence or innovation in civil engineering across the North East.

Nominations are open to projects completed or substantially completed in the last two years, with the winners announced at the ICE North East Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony, at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park, Newcastle, on 2 May 2019.

Projects with a value of more than £5 million are eligible for the Large Award, those with a value between £1 million and £5 million can be entered into the Medium Award, and the Small Award is for projects and studies that value less than £1million.

In 2018, the Blyth Offshore Demonstrator Windfarm Project was the Large Award winner, Cable Eden Dene Outfall took home the Medium Category award, and the Cobalt Cycle Scheme won the small category.

Penny Marshall, ICE North East Regional Director, said: “These annual awards recognise the delivery of effective infrastructure projects and promote the very best of civil engineering across the North East. Each year, they are keenly contested by the region’s leading engineering and project management firms, and I am expecting another strong cohort of entries for 2019.

“It is important to showcase the outstanding work in the art of civil engineering throughout the region, as these projects contribute so much to society and improve people’s everyday lives.”

The early bird submission deadline is 31 December 2018, and the closing date for all entries is 3 February 2019.

For further information about the awards, visit: https://www.ice.org.uk/about-ice/near-you/uk/north-east/awards/robert-stephenson-awards