• Tue. May 28th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

South Tyneside Welcomes the New Mayor and Mayoress

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 14.44.40The new Mayor of South Tyneside is Councillor Alan Smith who represents the Fellgate and Hedworth ward.

At the Mayor Making ceremony in Jarrow Town Hall, Councillor Alan Smith was presented with his chains of office by outgoing Mayor Councillor Richard Porthouse.

Councillor Alan Smith, who served as Deputy Mayor last year, is retired and is the Chair of governors at Clervaux Nursery School and Hedworthfield Primary School and the Vice Chair of governors at St Joseph’s RC Primary School. He is also a member of the South Tyneside Citizens Advice Bureau Management Committee.

Councillor Moira Smith, will be stepping into the role of Mayoress for a second time following her year in the civic officesupporting former councillor Linda Waggott in 2003. The new Mayoress is retired and is a governor of Hedworthfield Primary School. The couple have two sons and one daughter, four grandchildren and another on the way.

The Mayor said: “I am thrilled to be taking on the role of Mayor. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to represent the Borough and I am looking forward to a great mayoral year ahead with support from my wife Councillor Moira Smith, who will be representing the Borough as Mayoress for the second time.

“As Mayor I will be promoting the importance of education and positive experiences for young people to help them develop the necessary skills they will need in adult life. I am looking forward to inviting schools into Jarrow Town Hall and meeting some of the wonderful and inspirational people who live in the Borough.”

He added: “I would like to thank the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Richard Porthouse and his wife Patricia, for all their support throughout their mayoral year.”

At the meeting, the following Cabinet appointments were made:

Resources and Innovation – Councillor Ed Malcolm

Regeneration and Economy – Councillor John Anglin

Housing and Transport – Councillor Alan West

Area Management and Community Safety – Councillor Moira Smith

Children, Young People and Families – Councillor Joan Atkinson

Independence and Wellbeing – Councillor Tracey Dixon

Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Co-operatives – Councillor Nancy Maxwell

Footage of the Mayor Making ceremony can be viewed at


By admin