• Sat. May 25th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

Stars of stop smoking service receive awards

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 09.50.41Stars of County Durham’s NHS Stop Smoking Service have been recognised for their work to help people quit.

Top stop smoking advisors at GP practices and pharmacies across the county, and the organisations they work for, received awards in a special “Star Performer” ceremony at the Durham Centre in Belmont.

Anna Lynch, the director of public health for Durham County Council said: “Helping people to stop smoking is one of the most important things any health care professionals can do.  

“It was a privilege presenting these awards to a range of people whose commitment has gone that extra mile to ensure they give the best service for their patients. 

“We know smokers are four times more likely to quit if they get the right support, and County Durham NHS Stop Smoking Service has an excellent track record of providing this”.

Durham County Council is a member of the County Durham Tobacco Control Alliance and commissions the County Durham NHS Stop Smoking Service, which has already helped thousands of people to stop smoking.

The “Star Performer” awards recognise and reward top performing level two stop smoking advisors and services that provide high quality services for smokers within their local communities.

Star Performer trophies were awarded to Farah Chemist in Dipton, John Low Pharmacy in Shotley Bridge, Phillips and Wright Pharmacy in Fishburn, Chilton Chemist, the Dr Kapoor Surgery at Deneside Medical Centre, Bridge End Surgery, Ferryhill and Chilton Medical Practice, and Bewick Crescent Surgery.

Three services – Stanley Pharmacy, Peaseway Medical Centre and Sacriston Medical Centre – missed out on star performer trophies, but were recognised for their contribution to their communities with service of the year awards.

Advisor of the year certificates were awarded to Elsa Mahoney of Whitworths Chemist in Murton, Heather Griffiths of the Dr Chandy Surgery in Shinwell Medical Centre, Dianne Harriman of Horden Group Practice, Kathleen Wardman of Stanley Pharmacy, Kelly Green of Stanley Medical Centre, and Cheryl Lightfoot of Woodview Medical Centre in Cockfield

Andrea Hughes of Phillips and Wright pharmacy in Fishburn, Marie Percival of Higginbottom Pharmacy, Sophie Lord of the Dr Jones Surgery in Trimdon Grange, Gillian Walker of the Dr Roy Surgery in Spennymoor, and Regan Johnson of Bridge End Surgery in Chester Le Street were also recognised.

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 09.50.41

By admin