TWO TOP NORTH EAST dentists are going head to head in the industry’s most prestigious awards, after both being shortlisted in the same categories.

Multi-award winner Dr Ken Harris and Dr Richard Coates of Riveredge Cosmetic Dentistry – which has surgeries in both Sunderland and Newcastle – have both made it to the finals of this year’s Aesthetic Dentistry Awards.

Dr Harris, who has a world-renowned reputation for his expertise, has taken the honours in the awards multiple times, but this is the first time he has been pitched against a colleague.

Both dentists have been shortlisted in the restorative – single tooth composite category and the single arch category.

And Dr Harris has also been shortlisted in a further seven categories for his restorative work.

The awards acknowledge practitioners who are at the top of their game, rewarding aesthetic, orthodontic and restorative excellence.

“It’s great news to have been shortlisted in so many categories,” said Dr Harris.

“And it also fantastic to see that Richard has also been shortlisted – even if we are up against each other!

“It is just confirmation of the standard of dentistry that our patients receive.”

Dr Harris is one of only two Fellows of the British Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry (BACD) which involves him teaching other dentists around the UK. He is a full member of the British Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry (BAAD), and regularly teaches USA dentists at the world-renowned Kois Center programme across in Seattle.

Over the years Dr Harris has become recognised globally for his skills and now teaches dentists throughout Europe and worldwide.

He regularly travels across to North America and Canada, delivering lectures on aesthetic dentistry to practitioners in New York, Vancouver, San Francisco, Orange County, Fresno and San Diego in his role as the Clinical Director for California Center (sic) for Advanced Dental Studies.

Dr Coates also trains regularly in the USA and is an active member of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD).

The award winners will be announced on 24 March at a dinner at London’s Landmark Hotel.