• Thu. Apr 18th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub



‘BEST OF REVEREND & THE MAKERS’ (Double Vinyl/Double CD)

Released September 20TH 2019




With six Top 20 albums already under their belts, Sheffield rock’n’roll radicals Reverend and the Makers release the ‘Best of Reverend & The Makers’ through Cooking Vinyl on September 20th 2019. The double vinyl, double CD and Digital download album spans the bands career so far and includes singles and fan favourites from their debut release ‘Heavyweight Champion Of The World’ to their latest single ‘Black Flowers’. Rounding off both albums are two new songs, especially recorded for this compilation, ‘Elastic Fantastic’ (featuring Rich Westley from The Moonlandingz) described by The Reverend (Jon McClure) as “a fantasy about killing Donald Trump with a bow & arrow” and Te Quiero Pero.

To coincide with the release Reverend and the Makers have announced nine headline shows for October and an Arena show at Leeds – First Direct Arena supporting Shed Seven on December 7th. Tickets go on general sale at 9:00am on Friday 21st June. To preorder the album and tickets for the October tour go to:https://rntm.lnk.to/BestOfPr  


3rd       Thursday         Nottingham                             Rock City

4th       Friday              Portsmouth                             The Wedgewood Rooms

9th       Wednesday     London                                    Electric Ballroom

11th     Friday              Birmingham                            O2 Institute 2

12th     Saturday         Norwich                                   Epic Studios

17th     Thursday         Glasgow                                  Saint Luke’s

18th     Friday              Newcastle Upon Tyne            University Students Union

19th     Saturday         Manchester                             Academy

25th     Friday              Sheffield                                  O2 Academy 


7th       Saturday         Leeds                                      First Direct Arena (supporting Shed Seven)

The complete track listing for ‘Best Of Reverend & The Makers’ is:

DISC One ‘Uppers’ (Vinyl & CD) 

  1. Silence Is Talking
  2. Heavyweight Champion Of The World
  3. Bandits
  4. MDMAzing (Featuring Howard Marks)
  5. Shine The Light
  6. Bassline
  7. Black Widow
  8. Makin’ Babies
  9. Out Of the Shadows
  10. Mr Glassalfempty
  11. Hidden Persuaders
  12. Open Your Window
  13. Elastic Fantastic (Featuring Rich Westley)

DISC Two ‘Downers’ (Vinyl & CD)

14. Hard Times For Dreamers

15. Long Long Time

16. The Beach And The Sea

17. No Soap (In a Dirty War)

18. Monkey See, Monkey Do

19. Sex With The Ex

20. Yes You Do

21. Something To Remember

22. Last To Know

23. Auld Reekie Blues

24. What Goes Around (Acoustic Version)

25. Black Flowers (Radio Edit)

26. Boomerang

27. Te Quiero Pero

Reverend and the Makers have achieved six UK Top 20 Albums and five Top Five Indie chart singles. Debut album ‘The State of Things’ (2007) included the UK Top Ten single ‘Heavyweight Champion Of the World.’ Second album ‘A French Kiss In The Chaos’ followed in 2009 and saw the band supporting Oasis on their final tour at stadiums across the UK and also a UK tour with fellow Sheffielders Arctic Monkeys. ‘@Reverend Makers’ appeared in 2012 followed by  ‘Thirty Two’ (Jon’s age at the time) in 2014. The critically applauded and adored by Noel Gallagher album Mirrors’ was issued in 2015, a year that also saw the band supporting the Courteeneres and The Libertines at arenas across the UK and Europe. Reverend and the Makers latest album, ‘Death Of A King’ (2017), was produced by Dave Sanderson and recorded in Thailand, it debuted in the UK album chart at Number 11, their best chart placing since the debut album in 2007. 

Reverend & The Makers are: Jon McClure, Ed Cosens, Joe Carnall , Laura McClure and Ryan Jenkinson.