The Institute of Directors (IoD) has named the business leaders who will compete for its prestigious Director of the Year awards in Yorkshire and the North East.

The winners will be named at a black-tie dinner at the Principal York hotel on 5 July and will go forward to represent the region at the national Director of the Year finals.

The judging panel was chaired by Simon Walton, managing partner at Berwick Partners/Odgers Berndtson, Leeds. He said: “I’d like to thank my fellow judges for their efforts in choosing this year’s top directors. The standard of entries was excellent and we faced some very hard decisions. With the bar set high, I’m looking forward to an evening that celebrates business excellence on 5 July.”

The full shortlist can be viewed at

Awards sponsors are Topic UK and York Science Park. To book your place at the awards ceremony, call 0113 243 0152 or

The shortlist is:


David Langworth, NM Group

Ravi Sharma, Pet Brands


Duncan Oakes, ClearPoint Recycling

Adeem Younis , Penny Appeal

Sunny Sharma, Pet Brands

David Winton, The Energy Check

Sunny Sharma, Paramount Retail Group

Laura Bartlett, House of Coco


Naveen Ahmed, The Parklane Group

James Biggin, Steel City Marketing

Jason Mace, Gala Tent


Simon Edwards, LightStart

Ahmad Akhtar, The Scan Room

Ben Maughan, Epic Social

Claire Shakespeare, Butterfly Tree

Ben Barker, Artemis Brew


Dr William Beer, Tunley Engineering

Sally Hart, George F White

Nicholas Oates, Fabricom Offshore Services

Lisa Harvey, GRO Marketing

Jason Taylor, Pugata


Kathryn Lavery, Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Tracey Moore, PNE Group

Kash Singh, One Britain One Nation (OBON)

Adeem Younis , Penny Appeal

Patricia Alexander, Shared Interest Society

Simon Wallis, The Hepworth Wakefield

Claire Malcolm, New Writing North

Jan Garrill, Two Ridings Community Foundation


Kathryn Lavery, Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Colin Glass OBE, WGN Business Advisors and Chartered Accountants

Jo Haigh, FDS Director Services

Paul Bolton, Relate Mid-Yorks


Aldo Monteforte, The Floow

Daniel Lee-Bursnall, Incremental Solutions

Alex Foreman, Total Recycling Services

Aidan Sunter, Epic Social

Prof Gary Green, York Instruments

Jacqui Hall, CNG

Charles Fawcett, Twisted Automotive

Alan Dempsey , Green Frog Genovate

Daniel Gill, Dine Delivered

Lorraine Aikhanizadeh, Kavendor

Martin Port, BigChange

Prof Adam Beaumont, aql


Tracy Wray, The University of Sheffield

Sharon Needle, Needle Partners

Adeem Younis , Penny Appeal


Kate Krachai, Quality Context

Geoff Shepherd, iSource Group / The Yorkshire Mafia

Jo Barnes, Sewell Investments / Shared Agenda     

Clair Challenor-Chadwick, Cause UK

Martin Port, BigChange


Heidi Mottram, Northumbrian Water

Richard Harpin, HomeServe