• Sun. Dec 10th, 2023

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

Students who do or say “something wonderful every day” celebrated at academy awards

Exemplary students have been recognised at an annual event to celebrate their achievements and the school year just passed.

The King’s Academy, in Coulby Newham, came together for Prize Giving, including some students who left in the summer, as well as parents and guests.

Principal David Dawes said: “Prize Giving is a celebration of achievements of just a small proportion of our students who are just a sample of the 1,250 students here, each of whom does something or says something wonderful each day.

“Our prize-winners are exemplary students whose qualities fit into the defined categories of these annual awards and match closely the characteristics of the academy.

“It’s also an opportunity to thank our staff who organise, support and mentor our students with such dedication and passion day in, day out.”

Students were recognised for performance in each subject, sport and for their contribution to their house and community.

A series of special awards included recognition for The King’s Academy success in the Emmanuel Schools Foundation annual Business Game, which the all-girl Team Revolution won for their Footprint children’s training shoes with GPS tracking device.

A second award of special recognition was presented to the Academy’s team in the UK Aerospace Youth Rocketry Challenge, in which the students were runners-up, just two points behind the winners.

European Champion boxer Sophie Harker and Keiran Beattie-Lewis, who is English Schools judo champion in his weight category, were Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year.

The Outstanding Student of the Year was Amie Baker, 17, of Coulby Newham, who was honoured for her GCSEs performance, which included taking an additional subject in child development in her own time at home.

Described as “a pleasure to teach, diligent, caring and courteous” by teachers, Amie said: “I’m sure I put in only as much effort as everyone else who got similar grades. I’ve always had an end goal and wanted to achieve the very best.”

Amie has stayed on at The King’s Academy sixth form for A Levels in biology, chemistry and art and wants to go to university to study paediatric medicine.

Guest speaker and executive principal of the Emmanuel Schools Foundation, Jonathan Winch, said all the award-winners had demonstrated the special quality of “focus”.

“It’s a very difficult thing to do to put distractions out of your mind but success depends upon one thing and that is focus,” he told the students.

Acknowledging the influence of digital devices in young people’s lives, he added: “We are living in an age where there are so many things demanding our attention that the things that really matter get left out. You need to know what you are passionate about and focus on it.”

The audience was entertained with a preview to the Academy’s production of Mary Poppins Junior, which is due to be performed from Wednesday, November 20 to Friday, November 22, and a performance by the choir.

The King’s Academy Prizewinners 2018-19
For Excellence: Alfie Cobain, Sophie Dawson, Lucy Shingler, Charles Ayre, Sophie Kitching, Sasha Pickard, Madeleine Baker, Hannah Lewis, Mary Rowney-Himsworth, Oliver Anderson, Jack Parkes, Francis Sayer, Amie Baker, Adam Bulman, Moftah Dhafr, Alicia Glasgow, George Knaggs, Jack Batt, Joseph Bennett, James McCrum, James Wood.

For Endeavour: Lillie Bell, Annabelle James, Kymberley Stead, Faye-Louise Paton, Amy Savage, Evelin Silvary, Chyna Costello, Amy Percival, Daisy Robson, Frankie Atkinson, Macy Chapman, Oliver Harding.

Merit Champions: Lucy Shingler, Evelin Silvary, Amy Percival, Macy Chapman.
Principal’s Award for Progress in Learning: Sean Calvert.

Department Awards, Outstanding Contribution: Natasha Scrafton (art and design), Andrew Craven (business), Grace Turner (child development), Bailey Walters (computer programming), Tom Millward (engineering), Ryan Clark (English), Emily Frewer (food technology), Thomas Chambers (geography), Sam Buchan (history), Esther Kovacs (modern foreign languages), Thomas Nevison (mathematics), Nathan Gamble (music), Harry Jones (politics), Ellie Meredith (psychology), Fouad Al Abdi (RE), Emma Watson (science), Megan Wilson (sociology), Khadeeja Bi (textile technology).

The Academy Drama Bowl: Alicia Glasgow.

Community Awards: Elle Taylor, Sophie Kitching, Raheem Hussain, Jack Parkes, Amelia Farrow.

Victrix Ludorum: Olivia Clark, Gabriella Clark, Emily Hilton Molly Dorsi.
Victor Ludorum: Same Depledge, Jason Jervis, Aaron Cummings, Jack Stott.
Sportswoman of the Year: Sophie Harker.
Sportsman of the Year: Keiran Beattie-Lewis.
The Rotary Club Work Experience Award: Joseph Mason.

The Academy Award of Special Recognition:
ESF Business Game Winners – Jessica Harris, Aimee Hedley-Taylor, Iqra Issa, Mia Rutherford, Megan Shingler.
UK Aerospace Youth Rocketry Challenge – Daniel Armitage, Milad Khajapoor, Christopher May, Sam Rajan.

The Alix Ritchie Award for Courage: Charlie Murkin.
The Academy Poetry Award: Chloe Barnett.
The Academy Short Story Award: Iqra Issa.
Outstanding Student of the Year: Amie Baker.
The House Cup: Romans.

By French