• Sun. Jul 14th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

Middlesbrough General Election Candidates Confirmed


May 15, 2017

THE full list of candidates for the General Election on Thursday, June 8 in the Middlesbrough Constituency has been confirmed following the close of nominations on Thursday, May 11:

    • David Hodgson UK Independence Party
    • Dawud Islam Liberal Democrats
    • Terry Lawton Independent


  • Carl Martinez Green Party


  • Andy McDonald Labour Party
  • Jacob Young Conservative Party

Polling stations open at 7am on Thursday, June 8, closing at 10pm.

The count in the Parliamentary election will take place in the main hall at Middlesbrough Sports Village off Ladgate Lane following the close of voting.

The deadline to register to vote in the General elections is Monday, May 22.

Anyone wishing to register can do so online via www.gov.uk/register-to-vote (date of birth and National Insurance number required) or contact the Elections team on 01642 729771.

The deadline to apply for a Postal Vote or a Postal Proxy Vote, or change or cancel an existing Postal Vote or Postal Proxy Vote, for the Parliamentary Election is 5pm on Tuesday, May 23.

The deadline to apply for a Proxy Vote – when the elector nominates another person to vote on their behalf – is 5pm on Wednesday, May 31.

To obtain a Postal Vote, Postal Proxy Vote or a Proxy Vote contact the Elections Team on 01642 729771.

By Emily