• Fri. May 24th, 2024

North East Connected

Hopping Across The North East From Hub To Hub

A BUDDING young chemist has discovered the formula for success after receiving the top award at a ceremony to recognise academic excellence and achievement.

Former St Michael’s Catholic Academy student Tom Nimmo, 17, who swept the board with an impressive haul of 11A* grades in his GCSEs, returned to school to be honoured with The St Michael’s Award, the highest accolade that the academy can bestow.

Presenting the honours head teacher Andrew Ramsey said: “Not only has Tom excelled academically he has also encompassed the ethos of compassion, justice and truth of St Michael’s and has been a wonderful ambassador for our school.”

Tom, of Billingham, who is now studying chemistry, physics, maths and further maths at Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College, Darlington, also picked up a subject awards for maths and a Carmel Education Trust award for exceptional merit.

“I feel very humbled to receive The St Michael’s Award and to be part of a fantastic celebration that recognises all of the hard work of everyone in our year group,” said Tom.

The award was one of dozens to be presented at the glittering annual celebration event which recognises achievements and endeavour across a range of subject and specialist areas.

Addressing a packed sports hall of invited guests, parents, families, carers, staff past and present, governors and directors of The Carmel Education Trust, Father John Butters, Father Jeffrey Dodds and returning students, Mr Ramsey said: “Everyone at St Michael’s is incredibly proud of each and every one of our 2016 leavers.”

Trophies and cups were presented for special awards including academic excellence, strength and character, outstanding GCSE results, sport, music, courage and contribution to school life by chair of governors Mary Toth.

Each graduating student also received a Destiny Star from head of year Clare Carey and invited guest speaker Team GB half marathon runner Matty Hynes.

Speaking to students about his journey to becoming an elite athlete, Mr Hynes, of Middlesbrough, said: “If anyone had told me at the age of 16 that I would run for England I would never have believed them.

“You never know where your journey will take you or what life has in store. Work hard, persevere, focus, find out what makes you truly happy and pursue it.”

The academy’s prestigious Tom Brown Award, named in honour of pupil Tom Brown, 16, who was tragically knocked over and killed in April 2013 and which recognises courage over adversity, was presented to student Phoebe Hay.

The Good Shepherd Award, in memory of former special education needs co-originator Kathryn Taylor, who passed away in January 2014, was awarded to Taylor Hunter-Mullender.


Taylor, 16, of Billingham, who overcame difficulties faced by Dyslexia to achieve outstanding GCSE results, was also presented with the academy’s English Language subject award.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by singers Niamh Casey-Burnett, Emilyrose Thompson and Katie Allinson accompanied by Joseph Binns on piano.




Subject awards

History: Connor Mulloy

Textiles: Laura Moon

Food: Chloe Eastwood

Graphics: Jessica Curry

Resistant Materials: Thomas Wilson

Art: Charlotte Liversidge

Maths: Thomas Nimmo

Physics: Joseph Riley

Biology: Lydia Hewitt

Media Studies: Lucy Wrigley

RE: Leon Charnley

Geography: Hannah Collict

Music: Niamh Casey-Burnett

Business: William Greaves

English Literature: Lydia Carroll

English Language: Taylor Hunter-Mullender

German: Benjamin Laver



Special Awards

Edna Early Award: Callum Walker

Trevor Gaynor Award:  Christie Kay

Martin Wing Award for Music: Joseph Binns

Johnson Matthey Award for Chemistry: Lauren Parsons

Lew Milburn Award: Sarah Brady

Trevor Gaynor Award for Cricket: Christopher Ho

Maureen Jamieson Award: Elizabeth Fenby

SRC Bede College Award: Christie Kay, Amy Kay

Stockton Sixth Form Award: Ryan Kirby

SVP Award: Christian Kelly

Peter Robinson Award: Rhiannon Flynn

Alan Parker Award: James Smith

David Armstrong Award for Contribution to School Life: Joseph Binns

Mandy Bell Award: Joshua Lannon

Shaun Lowrey Award: Ryan Kirby

Nicholas Welch Trophy: Samuel Naylor

Griffin Charity and Community Shield: Katie Allinson, Emilyrose Thompson

Heenan Compassion Shield: Lucy Cole

Wiseman Integrity Shield: Oliver Nurk

Vaughan Integrity Shield: Samuel Neal


Pastoral Award: Bethany Sill, Samuel Whyte, Lydia Hewitt, Abigail Hansford, Keavey White, Maisie Cuthbert, Issac Wharrier-Robinson, Brianna Forbes, Kerrie Gittins, Elliott Smith, Megan Marsh, Charles Williams, Evie Frank, Antonia Leck, Thomas Lavender



Carmel Education Trust Achievement & Adversity Award: Elizabeth Fenby, Max Fleming


Carmel Education Trust Exceptional Service: Hayley Briggs, Hollie Corking, Kate Ditchburn, Anna Smith, Adam Jones, Connor Mulloy


Carmel Education Trust Exceptional Merit: Samantha Glaister, Megan Sinclair, Matthew Kelsey, Katie Hancock, Adelle Kirby, Jack Wallace-Hunter, Blossom Ladokun, Christopher King, Thomas Nimmo


Carmel Educational Trust Exceptional Dedication: Cameron Kushnirenko, Sophie Boyer, Liam Hutchinson, Megan Marsh, James Griffiths, Rebekah Bradley, Imrah Nadeem, Jordan Burnup, Bethany Hunton, Gracie Maxwell, Ben Ferguson, Adam Eland, Lydia Carroll, Leo Bracken, Mia Young, James Ferguson


Carmel Educational Trust Shield of Excellence: Jessica Curry, Charlotte Liversage


The Archangel Award for Ethos: Joseph Binns, Niamh Casey Burnett


Hinsley Scott Award: Samuel Naylor


The Good Shepherd Award: Taylor Hunter-Mullender


Tom Brown Award: Phoebe Hay


St Michael’s Award: Thomas Nimmo