North East Connected

students celebrate awards

Richmond School and Sixth Form College invited students and their parents to an awards ceremony to remember as a host of accolades were presented for academic, sporting and community endeavours.

Sophie Blenkiron won high praise and the Governors Cup for inspiring her fellow students and raising thousands of pounds for charities along the way.

Design flair shown by Emily Travanyar has prompted British motorcycle manufacturer Triumph to take a close look at her design for a panier system, her work winning her the Technology Cup.

Katie Kitching took the BTEC Sports Cup for combining her studies with securing a place in the squad of Manchester City Ladies Football Club.

Sophie Spink was awarded the Headteacher’s Cup for her fundraising efforts for an orphanage in India, while the accolade was shared with Ben Walker, an outstanding student who has secured a prestigious place at veterinary school after he spends a year on a cattle and sheep farm in the Australian Outback.

Headteacher Ian Robertson said: “It is an absolute privilege for me to rub shoulders on a daily basis with such incredible young people.”

Hosted by head boy Benjamin Fisher and head girl Erica Baldry, the guest of honour was Mayor of Richmond Russell Lord, a member of Richmond School Trust, who presented many of the awards.

He said: “I really enjoy such awards ceremonies which acknowledge the hard work students put in at school. They are a credit to themselves, their parents, their school and great role models to other young people, who can see what can be achieved through hard work.”

Entertainment was provided by soloist Evie Wright and the Richmond School Singers.


ICT Cup, Tom Sothcott; English and Media Cup, Oliver Harradine; Social Sciences Cup, Molly Bradbury; Technology Cup, Emily Tavanyar; PE Cup, Maddy Hope; Performing Arts Cup, Billy Gaines; Creative Arts Cup, Lewis Hayes; Modern Foreign Languages Cup, Talya Honebeek; Science Cup, Cherry Hornby; Business and Economics Cup, Chris Gill; Maths Cup, Mark Wolstenholme; BTEC Sports Cup, Katie Kitching; Humanities Cup, Luke McCormack; Dave Courtenay Cup, Harry Bourne; Blenkiron Cup, Andrew Conley, Trustees’ Cup, Will Langstaff; Governors Cup, Sophie Blenkiron; Headteacher’s Cup, Sophie Spink and Ben Walker.

Exit mobile version